University Fusion Association General Meeting

Monday, 30 October 2006 6:00 PM – 7:30 PM Grand Ballroom Salons CDE Philadelphia Marriott Hotel

Agenda

Welcome & General Announcements Gerald Navratil, UFA President

OFES Program Steve Eckstrand, DOE/OFES

NRC/NAS Plasma 2010 Study Update Steven Cowley, UCLA

US Burning Plasma Organization Ray Fonck, Director US BPO

UFA Executive Committee Elected Members for 2006

Term Ending Jan 1, 2009

David Meyerhoffer, University of Rochester Uri Shumlak, University of Washington Matt Stoneking, Lawrence University George Tynan, UCSD

Term Ending Jan 1, 2008

Boris Briezman, University of Texas Troy Carter, UCLA James Drake, University of Maryland Arnold Kritz, Lehigh University

Term Ending Jan 1, 2007

C. K. Birdsall, UC-Berkeley Robert Granetz, MIT Stewart Prager, University of Wisconsin Andrew Ware, University of Montana

UFA Executive Committee Nominations Committee for 2007

Stewart Prager, Univ. of Wisconsin (Chair) Adil Hassam, Univ. of Maryland Thomas Pedersen, Columbia University

If you would like to suggest a candidate or are yourself interested in serving, please contact any of these committee members by the end of November 2006.

UFA Officers for 2007-2008

President: Stephen Knowlton, Auburn University

Secretary/Treasurer: Michael Brown, Swarthmore College

Vice-President: George Tynan, UCSD

UFA Activity for 2007

Expect a new FESAC charge to develop a plan for the US fusion program over the next ten-years prior to ITER operation including identification of possible major new facilities.

The UFA will work to be involved in this planning process particularly with respect to the role played by universities.

UFA 'white paper' on the evolving role of universities in the US fusion program will be prepared – drafting committee appointed: Steve Knowlton (Chair), George Tynan, Bob Granetz, Arnold Kritz, David Meyerhoffer.